Missing the bus

19Jun07

i should learn to be more careful.

On the 185, coming home tonight, the bus suddenly stopped between bus stops just south of oval, and didn’t move for 10 minutes. I went downstairs to see what was going on. Turns out that the driver had called the police because of a rude/aggressive passenger and we were waiting for them to turn up. The man in question was a fat white man in his forties who was loudly telling the bus that he “didn’t give a toss” and he wasn’t getting off even if it meant that everyone else was stuck there.

Now I don’t know, I get really annoyed at this sort of thing and I lost it with the guy, ending up with him offering me out. i was at the point of getting off the bus with him when an older woman sitting next to him gave me a look. It was like an almost indiscernible shake of the head and she mouthed the words, it’s not safe. So instead i walked away, off the bus alone and to the next stop where another bus arrived taking me to Lordship Lane, pride bruised, body intact.

Who knows. Maybe she was my guardian angel in human form. maybe i should have taken him off the bus and — given that the last fight i had was when i was twelve — got myself beaten to a pulp as an act of self-sacrifice. but i didn’t. and i’m here telling the tale.

who knows where he is now, possibly in walworth road police station, if the police ever turned up.

but there’s another possible world where I am a hero.

*i demolish him with my kung fu kicks
*make a pretend phone call to imaginary mafiosi which makes him run away leaving me laughing with the other passengers
*I calm him with my hypnotic deep and soothing voice and he walks off into the night vowing to be a better person.

And then there’s this one. this world @ – and i know that its not the one that I would chose…if i had the option.

2 Responses to “Missing the bus”

  1. 1 spudballoo

    hmmm…these London moments are so hard. We moved out of London earlier this year, after 5 years of toughing it out in the ‘posh’ (hollow laugh) part Hackney. It wasn’t pretty from a personal perspecive, let’s put it that way.

    Alas whilst principles and sticking upi for what is right is so admirable, I think the wise old bird on the bus was right. Often such situations are too volatile, it’s not worth the risk.

    So fight that fight in your head, where you will always win. ROAAAAAARR!

  2. I’m sure you’re right spud. Otherwise I might not have lived so long as to tell the tale…let alone read your comment on it two years later 😉


Leave a Reply

