the prey of vain dread

07Jun07
    Someblogger called

antarctic househusband has tagged me…or rather has tagged east of dulwich — so now i’ve got to think of 8 interesting facts about him.

this is harder than you might think. ok, i know i can just make the whole thing up just as i made the whole person up. but there’s a real problem with harmony of design – i can’t say something that conflicts with some post that i wrote back in february. and i read so slowly that it would take me for ever to go back over the whole thing. anyway, something to work on when i should be working. something else to focus on as to stop me thinking about tiina.

Meanwhile, the book from pekka arives. It’s ‘the egyptian’ by Mika Waltari. It starts:-


I, Sinuhe, the son of Senmut and of his wife Kipa, write this. I do not write it to the glory of the gods in the land of Kem, for I am weary of gods, nor to the glory of the Pharaohs, for I am weary of their deeds. I write neither from fear nor from any hope of the future but for myself alone. During my life I have seen, known, and lost too much to be the prey of vain dread; and, as for the hope of immortality, I am as weary of that as I am of gods and kings.

what’s that all about?

No Responses Yet to “the prey of vain dread”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

