Finding my way Bach?

24Apr07

No news from Pekka who seems to have vanished without trace. but i get an email from tiina…did i get the CD she sent me?

I did. And i was wondering who had sent it to me. Its Bach. Goldberg Variations. Theres an interesting story about this music which ive told on East of Dulwich.

Thing is, i hate classical music. Usually. But actually, this is something else. Its kind of mesmerizing in a tranceish sort of way. So i write back and tell her that i appreciate it.

but everytime I listen to it, i find myself drifting, drifting, drifting…

One Response to “Finding my way Bach?”

  1. I think you’ll find that Bach is not a Classical composer but one of the Baroque period. Therefore your statement that you hate “classical music” is entirely consistent with enjoying Bach. I would encourage all dislikers of so-called “classical music” to “give him a go” as they say. I actually find he is closer, not to, say, the Mahler of the 1880s, but to the New Wave music of the 1980s. Gang of Four for example, have produced a number of pieces in a style resembling the fugue.


Leave a Reply

